March 8th Bible Readings

sunflower-sparks-widescreen-s-315x851-copy

Numbers 10:1-11:23 ~ Mark 14:1-21 ~ Psalm 51:1-19 ~ Proverbs 10:31-32
~ Click here to read today’s Scripture on BibleGateway.com ~ 
~ Listen to today’s Scripture on ESVBible.org: OTNTPsalmsProverbs

 Old Testament – Today we begin to read about the Israelites discontent with God’s provision and care in Numbers chapter 11, and this discontent & disobedience we will read about through chapter 25.

As we read through these chapters, I do think we would do well to not point fingers at the Israelites and say that we would have behaved differently back then. I’m not so sure that I would have. . . I think these chapters will very likely speak into our lives today and we might find that we are often not so different from the Israelites.

In Numbers chapter 11 verse 1 today we read: “Now the people complained about their hardships in the hearing of the LORD, and when he heard them his anger was aroused.” How does this verse speak to you today? I don’t know about you, but for me this verse is convicting. Simply because I know that I often complain more to God than I actually thank God for the blessings he has poured out into my life. It really is incredible to stop and think about how good God is to us. And yet, what is our percentage of thanksgiving to God versus our complaining to God? I’m afraid my percentage is way slanted toward complaining or worrying (worrying is really similar to complaining I think). I pray that as I go forward in my walk with God that I will do a lot more thanking and a lot less complaining & worrying. It is an amazing thing – this gift of life.

Even in the midst of all of our daily challenges and storms, let us know that God is the anchor and harbour in our life. And he continues to pour out blessings upon blessings upon our life – oftentimes without us consciously being aware of the blessings. And often times without us thanking God for the blessings. How about you? How is your thanksgiving of God’s blessings in your life going these days?

New Testament – In Mark chapter 14 today we read the beautiful story of Mary, the sister of Martha and Lazarus, who anoints Jesus, and as he tells us in verse 8 – “She has done what she could and has anointed my body for burial ahead of time.””  A new insight I learned on this today is from Zondervan’s commentary – In Jesus’ day it was a normal Jewish custom to anoint a dead body with aromatic oils in preparing for burial.  Jesus seems to be anticipating suffering a “criminal’s” death, for only in that circumstance was there no anointing of the dead body.

Psalms – Today we read one of my favourite  Psalms!  Psalm 51. Psalm 51 is David’s humble prayer for forgiveness and cleansing after David had committed adultery with Bathsheba and had her husband Uriah killed in battle. I believe that this Psalm can continue to be a humble prayer for forgiveness and cleansing for each of us today.

We, like David, can and must have complete cleansing before we can fully and freely serve God in any capacity. Our eternal destiny may not be in doubt when we sin as believers, and neither was David’s because he appealed to that covenant relationship, but our fellowship and service will be. God will not tolerate unconfessed sin, and so will hold us accountable if we do not confess.”

I’ve been trying to figure out my favourite portion or two of this Psalm to share with you. . . but I can’t just pick one portion. It is all so powerful!

My questions for reflection are these – Do you confess your sins to God? Do you confess your sins to others? And ask them to hold you accountable? When was the last time you confessed your sins to God? Do you have sins to confess to God today? Will you do so now? I pray this Psalm opens up your heart to the amazing burden that is lifted when we confess our sins to God. . .

Proverbs – Proverbs chapter 10 verses 31 & 32 are great reminders of how very important the words that come out of our mouths are!  They reflect the condition of our hearts…  What are the types of words that are coming out of your mouth these days?  Are they helpful to others?  Do they give wise advice?

Worship God: Psalm 51 reminded me of the fantastic song “Create in me a Clean Heart” performed here by Donnie McClurkin and a choir:

Watch and listen here on the below link:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ILRjmPGvVB8

 

Do you want a clean heart? 

Please join us in memorizing and meditating on a verse of Scripture today: “Create in me a pure heart, O God, and renew a steadfast spirit within me.” Psalm 51:10 NIV

Prayer Point:

Pray for a pure heart.

Pray that God will purify your heart.

Pray for renewal of a steadfast spirit within.

Comments from You & Questions of the Day:

How does Psalm 51 speak to you?  Can you imagine yourself praying any of these lines to God?

Have you ever prayed Psalm 51 to God?  Or have you prayed other Psalms to God?

Do you confess your sins to God?

Do you confess your sins to others? And ask them to hold you accountable?

Also, what verses or insights stand out to you in today’s readings?

Please post your comments below

 

Love, Trust and Obey Jesus,

Melwyn Misquitta

 

Bible Reading Plan For 9th March:

Num 10:111:23, Mark 14:121, Ps 51:119, Prov 10:3132

5 thoughts on “March 8th Bible Readings

  1. As I refer Mark 14 when Jesus was annointed by mary with expensive perfume…

    question arise is are we like mary… ready to give God the most desirable and expensive gift to God…
    God gave is His most desirable and precious Son Jesus Christ for us…What are we giving Him..

    Today I pray that I will give my best and follow Jesus..my life is to serve Him and spread the Word of
    God.

    Jesus already has taken away all our sins, transgressions, iniquity. .we are already cleanse…

    but often we commit sins in our daily life knowingly nd unknowingly..we tend to fall into sins by our action, thoughts, our behaviour, our mind and our words… we just have to repent and turn away frm those sins and ask God for forgiveness. ..Jesus has shed his precious blood for us on that cross…today we can claim His precious upon us to clean ourselves from every impurities protect ourselves from every evil…

    Lord Jesus I thank you for giving yourself on the Cross..you broke your body nd shed your precious blood…I bow nd kneel before you..thank God. ..He had mercy on me…I admitt that I have sinned knowingly nd unknowingly thru my thoughts, deed, nd words..Jesus I take your precious blood nd cleanse myself asking forgiveness and to give me strength to forgive others. ..what ever evil I have done in your sight nd sinned against you…that I may not do it again and stand firm in my decision. .fill me with your Holy spirit to guide me nd help me….to give me understanding nd wisdom..in Jesus name Amen.

    The verse stands out to me is Num 11:23

    Like

  2. Reading the chp num.10 nd 11…the israelites were blessed by God but still they were unsatisfied…they always grumbled nd
    complained abt hvg good food, abt their
    hardships…are we like these
    israelites….instead of
    thanking God for
    each new day nd
    each new
    blessings…we only
    complain….

    When I look around I always thank God
    that He has given me
    everything a house,
    provided our daily
    meal, clothing,
    education etc..there
    are mny people who
    dont even have this
    enough… His favor his upon me.
    often as a Christian we forget. …in want of more nd desire. ..we start complaining wish we wud hv this…wish wud be better of like them…or mny more ??? But we fail to thank God for wht we have or wht we are blessed just like the israelites…

    This chp make us aware that God loves us unconditionally..he knws the best for us..
    From tdy I wl thk him for each nd every things..

    Num 10:35 nd 36 verses I really liked how moses prayed…”rise up, Lord! May your enemies be scattered… verse 36 “whever it came to rest” return Lord to the countless thousands of Israel”
    As i pray i wl ask my God to take care of me nd my people as i rise up and whn i rest …

    I even like the verse Num 11:23…”Is the Lords arm too short?
    When moses could not carry the burden of israelites He questioned to God but God’s answer was amazing how true?
    For God everything is possible..He can provide or take into control everything…but as a Christian we too doubt whether it wud b possible. .cn it b done..wud it b solved. ..wl it work out?? How mny questions play in our mind…our we not strong in our faith…our we doubting God…its time to think and wake up..put your trust in God…
    I am gng to put my trust in God. .for God cn do amazing things

    Like

  3. From today’s Psalm reading I agree that we need to confess all our sins, whether it we commit it unknowingly or knowingly, before we serve the Lord. Because if we don’t, our conscience makes us feel guilty, and then we cannot focus on the work that God wants us to do for His glory. This also prevents us from enjoying our blessings and destroys our inner peace. So the right thing to do is confess, cause anyways nothing can be hidden from Him, and He is quick to forgive if we are truly sorry. I personally confess my sins or wrong doings, and make efforts never to repeat them again.

    Like

    • I too agree sister carolyn..God wants us to ask forgive ness nd to repent… but most of us dont understand the word forgive nd repent..its not just sorry for wht we hv done or sinned. It means not to do it again or not to repeat again…mny say sorry nd again commit the sins..they don’t turn away…
      Each one should Daily repent for all sins and ask forgiveness for whtever they done or sin against God.

      Like

  4. From today’s Numbers reading I totally agree that we can’t point fingers at the Israelites, cause even I am sure that if were in their place even I might have reacted in the same manner as them. I do thank God for whatever He has blessed me with, but often in hard times we tend to shift our focus from God to our troubles. We feel that this storm is too hard to survive or this trouble is too big to overcome and we tend to grumble or complain to God as to why He had to make us see such a day. But what we forget is that we serve a God that is bigger than our biggest trouble! He has always blessed us in the past and has always blessed us more than we deserve, and He will always bless us. He will never leave us if He has bought us to some point in our life that seems to be tough. Tough times only makes us closer to Him and He will get us through it in His perfect time. All we need us faith, trust and a willing heart!

    Like

Leave a Reply

